Celebrating IPA Day with Stone’s R&R

First of all, Happy IPA Day fellow brewsters and beer guzzlers! Now a year ago you probably wouldn’t have heard me say that. My palate just started warming up to the heavy rich character of an IPA. Let’s just say that once I found an IPA that I liked, the more I found myself attracted to the rest of them. One of which that stood out to me was a coconut IPA that I luckily came across with during an American Homebrewers Association rally at Stone Brewing. Jason & I voted it as our first choice and apparently others did too because it took 1st place in the competition AND would be featured as one of Stone’s new beer.

2013-03-16 14.00.41

Now since it’s IPA Day it’s only natural for Stone Brewing Company, known for their delicious IPAs, to release this coconut beer the day before. It is another one of my favorite Stone Collaboration beers (the other one is the wOOtstout).  2013 AHA winners Robert Masterson and Ryan Reschan, Rip Current, and Stone Brewing crafted a recipe that yielded the same coconut flavor but with one alteration- using six varieties of hops.

I haven’t yet had the chance to drive down to Escondido but I’ll head over to Bevmo or Total Wine in search of this R&R Coconut IPA. If it’s anything like that coconut IPA I had on that rally (which I’m sure it will be, if not better) then I know it will satiate my need for a vibrant, tropical flavored beer.

~Jason & Nyssa

2013-03-16 14.08.57

Leave a Reply

